function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
brianspatsobrianspatso 

Using @future to overcome Mixed_DML_Operation error to update Users from list of Contact Owners

I am fairly new to Apex, and I'm trying to update a list of Contacts whenever something is changed in the parent Account. The Trigger I have written works, apart from where the Contact Owner is Inactive.

I could transfer the Contacts to another, active Owner and update them. But for Opportunities, I need to put the old Owner back. So my idea is to activate the Owner, update the Contact, then deactivate the Owner.

However, everything I try generates the Mixed DML Operation error, because I am trying to update both the Contact and User objects. I have researched this problem and found the following. It mentions that I can use the @future method inside a class, then call the class from the trigger.

However, I don't know where to start with this. My experience with classes is around test classes - so I'm not sure how to use a class to actually update a record permanently.

This is the code I have to update the Contacts:

trigger UpdateChildObjectsToDepartment on Account (after update) {

Map<Id, Account> accountMap = new Map<Id,Account>();
  Account parent;

//For changing company TO Deparment
  for (Integer i = 0; i < Trigger.new.size(); i++){
    if (Trigger.new[i].Department__c == true && Trigger.old[i].Department__c == false) {
      accountMap.put( Trigger.new[i].Id, Trigger.new[i]);
    }
  }

if( accountMap.size() > 0 ) {
  Set<Id> accountIds = accountMap.keySet();

List<Contact> relatedContacts =
      [SELECT f.id, f.Accountid,  f.Owner.Name, f.Department__r.id, f.Ownerid, f.Owner.IsActive
      FROM Contact f
      WHERE f.Accountid IN :accountIds
      FOR UPDATE];

for ( Contact child : relatedContacts ) {