function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JonReevesJonReeves 

Test Coverage Advise with CurrentPage & nonDraft Knowledge

Hey guys,

we've recently started implementing SF, and I'm helping out with the VF pages and Apex Classes. My background is mainly web development, but have struggled through the Apex Class parts of this process. During the trial I wrote a class that we were able to utilize, However since going live I've been introduced to the Sandbox and TestMethod steps.

I spent the best part of yesterday wrestling with my Class, trying to build some testMethods to cover the code. I understand the importance of this and want to do it properly however I've ran into a few issues that I was hoping I might get help on.

I should note that the class works absolutely fine, I'm just unable to edit it in any way until I can write a testMethod that works.

First some info... I've written an extension class for an Article Type (Knowledge) standard controller. It is currently implemented like so:

public class queryDocument{

public queryDocument(ApexPages.StandardController stdController) {
    }

}

This appeared to be the accepted way to get an extension written.

So my questions are as follows:

1. How do I get access to the Record's Fields in the Class without using: "ApexPages.currentPage().getParameters().get('id');" and running a SOQL for each method.
  2. Or How can I write a testMethod (within this Class) to spoof the CurrentRecord / or Page... I think I've got this done, but wanted to check
    // Do an Insert
    List<Virtual_Support_Team__kav> testList = new List<Virtual_Support_Team__kav>{};
    Virtual_Support_Team__kav testItem = new Virtual_Support_Team__kav(Title = 'TestTitle', UrlName = 'TestTitle', Section_Code__c = 'TestCode', Product__c = 'TestProduct');
    testList.add(testItem);
    Insert testList;