function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Marco PinderMarco Pinder 

SimpleDateFormat - Parse String to DateTime

Hi all,

I am writing a trigger and have a String named 'mappedDueDate' with a value assigned to it, such as:

mappedDueDate = '17/11/2011'

How can I parse this into a DateTime value so that in my trigger I can create a task with the correct Due Date.

e.g.

taskActivityDate = mappedDueDate

At the moment, I get an error message.

I am not a programmer and have received some guidance to understand that I need to parse the string value, but I do not know how.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Marco

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Its the other way around - the task activity date is a date field rather than a datetime field, so you need to parse a date out of the string.

Change to:

Date taskActivityDate=Date.newInstance(Integer.valueOf(mappedDueDate.substring(6,10)), Integer.valueOf(mappedDueDate.substring(4, 5)), Integer.valueOf(mappedDueDate.substring(1,2)));

All Answers

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

You'll need to break the string up into its component parts and create a datetime from it.  However, you don't have a time part of the string - I've assumed you want the time as midnight.

Something like:

DateTime taskActivityDate=DateTime.newInstance(mappedDueDate.substring(6,10), mappedDueDate.substring(4, 5), mappedDueDate.substring(1,2), 0, 0, 0);

Marco PinderMarco Pinder

Hi Bob,

Thanks for your reply.

I have entered that code and now get the error message:

Error: Compile Error: Method does not exist or incorrect signature: DateTime.newInstance(String, String, String, Integer, Integer, Integer) at line 108 column 45

Any advice on how to resolve this please?

Thanks,

Marco

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Doh!

Change to: