function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
cathy_icathy_i 

Creating Autonumber field that reset per product entry in Opportunity

Hi, 

Im a newbie in salesforce so i don't really know how to do trigger and extensive formula. I need to create a field that is Series No. that will automatically increment when an opportunity is created. However this incremental function depends on which product (custom field) has been chosen because we have a couple of products that involves a range in series.

ex.

Product 1, 2, 3 - series should belong to 0000 to 2999

Product 4, 5 - series should belong to 3000 to 3999

If Opportunity 1 is posted choosing Prod 1 series should be 00001

If Opportunity 2 is posted choosing Prod 1 (same product) series should be 00002

If Opportunity 3 is posted choosing Prod 2 (same product) series should be 00003

If Opportunity 4 is posted choosing Prod 4 (same product) series should be 30001

please help.

thanks,

cat

Navatar_DbSupNavatar_DbSup

Hi,

You have to write the trigger on opportunity. You have to bulkily the code at your own.

Try the below code as reference:

trigger OpportunityCount on Opportunity (before insert)
{
for(Opportunity o:trigger.new)
{
system.debug('#################' +o.Product_Type__c);
if(o.Product_Type__c=='Product 1' ||o.Product_Type__c=='Product 2' ||o.Product_Type__c=='Product 3')
{
list<Opportunity> op1=[select id,TextAutoNumber__c from Opportunity where (Product_Type__c ='Product 1' or Product_Type__c ='Product 2' or Product_Type__c ='Product 3') and TextAutoNumber__c !=null order by TextAutoNumber__c desc];
if(op1.size() > 0)
o.TextAutoNumber__c =op1[0].TextAutoNumber__c + 1;
else
o.TextAutoNumber__c= 00001;
}
else if(o.Product_Type__c=='Product 4' ||o.Product_Type__c=='Product 5' )
{