function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Sushma PriyaSushma Priya 

Doubt in Apex Trigger

Hi,

I am new to Apex and started learning it recently. While going through Apex Developer's Guide I found following:

If you update or delete a record in its before trigger, or delete a record in its after trigger, you will receive a runtime error. This includes both direct and indirect operations. For example, if you update account

A, and the before update trigger of account A inserts contact B, and the after insert trigger of contact B queries for account A and updates it using the DML update statement or database method, then you are indirectly updating account A in its before trigger, and you will receive a runtime error.

Can anyone please explain the above functionality with an example?

Also, please provide with a link which has Apex practice classes and triggers for beginners.

Thanks in advance,

Sushma Priya.

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

On the delete side, its basically saying that you can't delete a record that caused the trigger to fire.  I have had code to do exactly this in an earlier version of the API which allowed it.  A record was inserted into a staging table, and I would then process the record , update the main table and delete the record from the staging table all in a trigger.  I think one reason this was changed is that if you do this when a user has inserted a record via the UI, its not a particularly good experience.

WRT updating, this simply means that you can't execute a DML update statement on a record that caused the trigger to fire.  One particularly good reason to avoid this is that it stands a good chance of leading to recursive updates - a record is updated, the trigger fires and updates the record again, which causes the trigger to fire again etc.