function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
natty dreadnatty dread 

Trigger for after insert OR after update

I have a trigger that simply pulls the time out of a DateTime field and displays it in the 'hh:mm a' format. I'd like this trigger to fire after a new record is inserted OR if an existing record is updated.

I'm very new to the dev side of force.com but I managed to get a working trigger and 100% test coverage but I'm only updating after insert. How would I get this to fire after an update as well? Code below: 

trigger time_test on Test__c (after insert) {
	Set<Id> Ids = new Set<Id>();

for (Test__c tests : Trigger.new){
		Ids.add(tests.Id);
	}

List<Test__c> test_list = new List<Test__c>([SELECT Id, Name, Time_Stamp__c, Custom_Time__c FROM Test__c l WHERE CreatedDate = today]);

for(Test__c tests : test_list){
		String my_time = tests.Time_Stamp__c.format('hh:mm a');
		tests.Custom_Time__c = my_time;
		update tests;
	}
}

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. 

-Natty

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
natty dreadnatty dread

Thanks to both Damien and Steve. Using your suggestions along with some more research I was able to fix my issue. 

Here's the working trigger: 

trigger time_test on Test__c (before insert, before update) {
    Set<Id> ids = new Set<Id>();

list<Test__c> tlist = [SELECT Id, Name, Time_Stamp__c, Custom_Time__c FROM Test__c Where Id IN : ids];

for(Test__c tests : trigger.new){
    	tests.Custom_Time__c = tests.Time_Stamp__c.format('hh:mm a');
    }
    insert tlist;
}

And here's the class with 100% coverage: 

@isTest
public with sharing class test_time_update {
	static testMethod void test_unit(){
		Test__c t = new Test__c();
		t.Time_Stamp__c = datetime.newInstance(2012, 12, 31, 23, 59, 00);
		insert t;
	}
}

Thanks again everyone. 

-Natty

All Answers