function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
dujsudujsu 

How do I reference a custom field in an unrelated object within a trigger?

Hello - I am trying to figure out how to set a custom field value that resides within the Activity object to the value of Task.ActivityDate. I am not sure how to reference the custom field (Activity.Activity_Due_Date__c) properly in my for loop below.

trigger GetUsableTaskDueDate on Task (before insert, before update) {
    Task[] checkTasks = Trigger.new; 
    for(Task t : checkTasks){ 
        Activity.Activity_Due_Date__c = t.ActivityDate;
    }
}

This is my 4th day learning SF and my first real task. I am a 12 year veteran web app developer and this task seems like it should be trivial.

All suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks!
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Damien_Damien_

Actually.... I believe Activities are really just Tasks.  Are you trying to set the field of your current task, since it could also be an activity?  So are you essentially trying to take 1 field and copy it to another?

trigger GetUsableTaskDueDate on Task (before insert, before update)
{
  for(Task t: checkTasks)
  {
    t.Activity_Due_Date__c = t.ActivityDate;
  }
}

All Answers

TheIntegratorTheIntegrator

As far as I know there is no object called Activity, there is Event and Task. Are you trying to set the value of a custom field in Event? You can do this by querying the Event object, but in my opinion you should have some criteria to select which event record you want to update based on the task record in the trigger.

Let me know and I can help you update this code.

Damien_Damien_

Where are you getting this Activity from?

I'm not quite sure what you are trying to do.  A more specific use case might be helpful.  Are you trying to create a new Activity from a Task?  If so something like...