function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Big_BBig_B 

Nested for-loops

Hi Everyone!

I'm pretty new to Apex and am having an issue with bulkifying my Asset trigger code below.  Basically, I need to update account records based on information on the related asset records.  The code takes the Asset(s) from the trigger, creates a set for all the related accounts then uses that set in a SOQL query to pull a list of accounts and then pull a list of all active assets related to those accounts - which could include more asset records than the trigger asset(s).

I then have a for-loop to iterate through the accounts.  Inside that for-loop I then have another for-loop to iterate through the assets. If the account id in the asset for-loop == account in the account for-loop, use the asset info to update the account info.

Everything works fine until I do an update to the Asset object using data loader when there are a lot of records.  It successfully updates about 20 records and then the remaining records of the 200 record batch fail.  The error I get is:

'AssetTrigger: System.LimitException: Too many script statements: 200001'

I assume it is because I am iterating through ALL the asset records for each account id to look for a match that brings the statement count past the limit but I can't figure out a more efficient way to do it.  Is there a way to set up the asset for-loop to only iterate through the asset records where the account Id matches?  Could it be something else?  200000 statements seems REALLY high.

Any assistance would appreciated.  Don't be afraid to provide suggestions for improving any of the code - I can take it!

public with sharing class UpdateAcctFromAsset {

public void updateAcctCustInfo(List<Asset> trigAssets)
	{	
		String sProdFam_TA = 'Recruitment';
		String sProdFam_TM = 'Talent Management';