function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
albonillalbonill 

Need to auto-populate Opportunity contact

Hello,

I am new to Apex so I would like assistance in creating a trigger to automatically update the Opportunity Contact field, with the contact designated as the Renewal Owner (Contact Type) in the contact description.  We have added a field named Contact Type to the Contacts so that we know who to send renewal contracts to.

Field Name (field type): API Name:
Opportunity Contact (Lookup(Contact)): Opportunity_Contact__c

Contact type (Picklist): Contact_Type__c

The objective of the trigger is to eliminate the need to have to select the contact in the Opportunity Contact lookup field.  This trigger should only fire once (when a new Opportunity is created) and not when someone updates the Opportunity.  If someone wants to change the Opportunity contact to someone else, later on, they should be able to edit that field as well.  Thanks for the help with this.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Eugene NeimanEugene Neiman

Try this

for (List<Contact> contactlist : [SELECT id FROM Contact WHERE AccountId = :opty.AccountId  AND Contact_Type__c = 'Renewal Owner' LIMIT 1]) {

All Answers

Try something like this:

trigger setRenewalOwnerContact on Opportunity (before insert) {

List<Opportunity > optylist = Trigger.new;
  for ( Opportunity opty : optylist ) {
   if (opty.Opportunity_Contact__c == null) {
    for (List<Contact> contactlist : [SELECT id FROM Contact WHERE AccountId = :opty.Account__c AND Contact_Type__c = 'Renewal Owner' LIMIT 1]) {
     for(Contact con : contactlist ) {
        opty.Opportunity_Contact__c = con.id;
     }
    }
   }
  }

}

albonillalbonill

Thanks for the help Eugene.  I pasted your code and this is the message I received: