function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
PawelWozniakPawelWozniak 

Problems with Setting up RESTful service

The mian goal is to set up web service which accept few parameters and based on that returns the file.

As it is my first try with webservices I do not know too much about it.

Input http call is GET type: https://cs8.salesforce.com/services/apexrest/RemoteActivation?company=abc&street=xyz

so parameters are passed in URL, for simplicity lets use just those two parameters.

I have found this article http://wiki.developerforce.com/page/Creating_REST_APIs_using_Apex_REST and followed the sample code. 

As a result came up with that:

@RestResource(urlMapping='/RemoteActivation/*')
global class as_remoteActivationService {

@HttpGet 
	global static String remoteActivation(RestRequest req, RestResponse res) {
		String company = req.params.get('company');
		String street = req.params.get('street');

System.debug('COMPANY: ' + company);
		System.debug('STREET: ' + street);
		return 'Done';
	}

and error when saving:

Save error: Invalid type: HTTP GET/DELETE methods do not support parameters 

Now I do not understant it. Example code exacly says:

@HttpGet
  global static List<Case> getOpenCases(RestRequest req, RestResponse res) {

and I have done the same and getting error. Why?

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
MarcoTimbaMarcoTimba

Found the problem, I was reading a Salesforce PDF called "Apex REST Developer's Guide" that apparently is not up to date.

That PDF has this example:

@HttpGet
global static Account doGet(RestRequest req, RestResponse res) {
}

but when I tried to create an example class with this code I got the following error: "Save error" Invalid type: HTTP GET/DELETE methods do not support parameters".