function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
TLeahyTLeahy 

HELP! I need to disable apex trigger already in production

I know there are some other posts about this, but I cannot make much sense of them I am new to apex and salesforce, learned a considerable amount in the time I've been working with it, but right now Im up against a wall, and its BAD

I, for whatever reason, could not make opportunities in my sandbox, could not figure out why, but wanted to try this trigger. So like a fool I put it to production. No nobody can create or edit anything [a Work order - custom object we use to project details]  We NEED this to work. My company is at a halt, I NEED to remove or disable this trigger asap.

I tried to mark it as inactive in sandbox, and push it to production, but it says "Average test coverage across all Apex Classes and Triggers is 72%, at least 75% test coverage is required." I have NOO idea what this means and no time to figure anything out. Needless to say - I am freaking out. PLEASE someone help.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
suresh.csksuresh.csk

Hi.

To make trigger in inactive or active

1.Download the trigger from production using the IDE.

2.After that double click the  xxXXX.trigger-meta.xml.

the meta xml file looks like this

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<ApexTrigger xmlns="http://soap.sforce.com/2006/04/metadata">
    <apiVersion>24.0</apiVersion>
    <status>Active</status> ----> change this to Inactive
</ApexTrigger>

In the status xml tag you can set Inactive to de-activate the trigger.

3.Deploy the trigger to server.

thats it your tigger will not work in production.

cheers

suresh

All Answers

Anup JadhavAnup Jadhav

The quickest way to disable the trigger is to comment out the code inside the trigger. So if your trigger is like this: