function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Cdolan04Cdolan04 

Apex Trigger to duplicate Custom Object fields to another Custom Object

Force community, 

I'm new to writing Apex triggers, and wanted to get some feedback on my issue. I currently have two Custom Objects - lets call those CO1 and CO2.

CO1 records are created as children of Opportunities, and contain about 20 fields. When my company signs on a client, we change a field called 'Type' on the Account object to 'Customer' instead of 'Prospect'. When this happens, I'd like to have an Apex Trigger create a new CO2 record, and copy all the data from existing CO1 records (which are, again, children of the opportunity), to CO2 records, which are merely related to Accounts.

I'm pretty new to this, but my two biggest questions are these: Do I have to compare a map to notice if the Type = Customer? And how exactly do I navigate related objects to find the correct CO1 record to copy? 

Thanks, any help is apprecaited! 

kerwintangkerwintang

Since an Account has many Opportunities, do you want to get all CO1 objects of all Opportunities of that Account?

If yes, i think you would have to create a trigger in Account that does the following:

1. Check if Account Type = Customer and previous Type != Customer.

2. Get all CO1s of opportunities of that Account via SOQL : [select Id,Name, .... from CO1 where Opportunity.Account = {account id here}]

3. Loop through the retrieved list and create CO2 record for each iteration.

Hope this helps!

Cdolan04Cdolan04

Kerwintang, 

You bring up a valid point regarding the multiple Opportunities per account, and that is important to consider, but my company generally does just 1 Opportunity per account.