function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AntonyasLenAntonyasLen 

Call an URL/Web Service from Salesforce to fill up a field

Hi,

I'm a beginner with APEX, i just finished to administrate my company Salesforce but we need some APEX class and Trigger to be able to use Salesforce as we wish.

We have the basic product, and when the salesman will add a product to an opportunity we will ask him to put a "mpn number". So we want to use the mpm number who will define the real price of the product(it's a particular number linked to a product depends on the customization of this product)

The administrator of ou e-commerce give me an URL as this one

http://mycompany.com/mpn.getprice?id=[produit_uad_id]&mpn=[code_mpn]

i saw this:

public class HttpCalloutSample {
    // Pass in the endpoint to be used using the string url

public String getContent(String url) {
        // Instantiate a new http object
        Http h = new Http();

// Instantiate a new HTTP request, specify the method (GET) as well as the endpoint
        HttpRequest req = new HttpRequest();
        req.setEndpoint(url);
        req.setMethod('GET');

// Send the request, and return a response
        HttpResponse res = h.send(req);
        return res.getBody();
    }
}

but i still don't undsertand of i can use it with my opportunity product.

I'll try to find by myself, but if someone an help me it would be great!

Noam.dganiNoam.dgani
The sample That you posted should do the trick. Look at your response.getbody() using system.debug to understand the format, extract the data that you want from it and populate the appropriate field in opp li e item. You will want to perform the fallout on insert/update of the line item so a trigger would work great (callout will be asynchronous though).
AntonyasLenAntonyasLen

Hi,

I tried but it look like not working.