function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
GrrrrrrrrrrrrrGrrrrrrrrrrrrr 

Trigger for Child Records

Hello everyone.

I am pretty sure that what I need to do is write a trigger to accomplish my goal, but I have not written one before and need some help with the code.  I will try to outline this as best I can, and any help is appreciated.

I have a parent Custom Object called Job__c

I have a child Custom Object called Bid__c

On Bid__c I have a field called Status__c that is a picklist with the values "Awarded" and "Lost"

One Job__c can have 1 to many Bid__c

When one Bid__c Status__c is changed to "Awarded" I need for all remaining Bid__c Status__c to change from "Pending" to "Lost"

I have absolutely no idea how to accomplish this.  I have read through some of the posts about triggers in here, but I have never done anything with one before, and I am pretty lost.

Here is what I have so far, which is nothing, and I am already not sure if its right.  (I can't wait to get beat up on a Test Class) 

trigger updateBids on Bid__c(after update){
     for(Bid__c c : trigger.old) {

}

}

Can someone please help me to fill in the missing blanks?

Thank you!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
SFAdmin5SFAdmin5

just tweaked this so the trigger will only update other children that are in a pending status, since that is in your reqs.  easy to see where to change that (just take out the if statement near the end about the status of the bid = pending)

trigger updateOtherChildrenFromChildUpdate on Bid__c (after update, after insert)
{
    Bid__c[] bids = new Bid__c[0];
    Bid__c[] bid;
    Id[] jobIds = new Id[0];

for ( Bid__c b : trigger.new )
    {
        if ( b.Status__c == 'Awarded')
        {
           bids.add(b);

jobIds.add(b.Job__c);
        }
    }

if ( bids.size() > 0 )
    {