function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
brozinickrbrozinickr 

Field Update Trigger Help

Hi, I am not very experienced with APEX development, but I am trying to write a trigger that places the value of the Last_AM_Verbal_Contact, Last_AS_Verbal_Contact, Last_BD_Verbal_Contact, and Last_SF_Verbal_Contact fields on the account level onto the same fields on the Opportunity level.  This is what I have so far:

trigger UpdateOppLastVerbalContactfromAcct on Account (after insert) {
Set<Id> Ids= new Set<Id>();
for (Account acc : Trigger.new)
{
Ids.add(acc.Id);
}
List<Account> accountList = new List<Account>([Select Id,Last_AM_Verbal_Contact__c,Last_AS_Verbal_Contact__c,Last_BD_Verbal_Contact__c,Last_SF_Verbal_Contact__c From Account a where Id in :Ids]);

for(Account temp : accountList )
{
Opportunity opp = new Opportunity();
opp.Last_AS_Verbal_Contact__c = temp.Last_AS_Verbal_Contact;
insert opp;

}

}

Error: Compile Error: Invalid field Last_AS_Verbal_Contact for SObject Account at line 12 column 41

I'm kinda confused why it's the field is invalid.  On the Account level, these fields are populated from a trigger.  I would figure that once the trigger populates it, then it wouldn't matter.  Also the field type is a date, so that might be the issue too?

brozinickrbrozinickr

I realized, I forgot the __c at the end of the one field.  Oops.

Now I am getting this error:

Error: Compile Error: Illegal assignment from Date to String at line 12 column 9

Daniel.ReidDaniel.Reid

Hi brozinick,

Apex cannot implicitly cast from Date to String types.  Try  String s=String.ValueOf(dateobject);

Daniel Reid
Contact us - We can help!

Salesforce Superheroes
------------------------------
help@salesforcesuperheroes.com
www.salesforcesuperheroes.com
1-888-407-9578 x102

HariDineshHariDinesh

Hi,