function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
sfdc_apex_learnersfdc_apex_learner 

Trying to update a lookup field via Trigger

Hello All,

This is my first attempt at writing an apex trigger. I got the code from another post on this board at http://boards.developerforce.com/t5/Apex-Code-Development/Trigger-Update-Lookup-Field/m-p/354509/highlight/true#M62906

I am trying to update the Store__c field on the standard Case object. This Store__c field is a lookup to a custom object called Store.

Below is my code. Any ideas?

trigger UpdateStoreName on Case (before update, before insert) {
List<String> StoreNames = new List<String>();
for (Case a: Trigger.new)
{
StoreNames.add(a.Store__c);
}
List <Store__c> StoreNameList = [Select Id from Store__c where Name in :StoreNames];
for (integer i = 0; i < Trigger.new.size(); i++)
{
if(Trigger.new[i].Store__c != null)
{
Trigger.new[i].Store__c = StoreNameList[i].ID;
}
else
{
Trigger.new[i].Store__c = null;
}
}
}

Peter.GPeter.G

Hi,

It looks like you are using the Store__c field (lookup) to get the store name.    Getting the value of this filed will give you either an ID or null.  Is there another field that is being populated with the name of the store you are attenpting use to set the lookup field?

Also, you are relying on the list fo stores to be returned but the SOQL query in the same order that you added them to the StoreNames list in the first for loop.

This will work when only a single record is updated/inserted, but will most likely fail if a bulk operation updated or inserts multiple records as the order of the returned values is not guarenteed.  You would need to map the stores returned in your query to the store name's that are included in the case fields to have the lookup set properly.

Andrew WilkinsonAndrew Wilkinson