function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
blake.tanonblake.tanon 

'Roll-up' Trigger Code Review - low test 67-77%

Hello,

I'm a novice programmer at best, i've got a very large trigger that i'm working on for CampaignMembers.  We want to populate fields on the CampaignMember record to show Sales($), Orders(#), Calls(#) & Meetings(#) for the 90 days prior then 90 days post Campaign StartDate.

When I wrote this I had 6 different SOQL queries for each set of fields for a total of 24 - which kills the test class.  If I break the code down into 24 different triggers I can get to 77% coverage, but I would rather not do that if there is a better way to do it.

I'm sure this is the lest effcient way to write this code but here is a snippet for the first fields which at -30days from start date.  Where the testclass as issues (in this smaller version - the complete it hits SOQL limits and fails with 67%) is in the BLUE highlighted areas 

trigger CMTrans3 on CampaignMember(before update)
{

Integer i = 0;

CampaignMember cm = Trigger.new[i];

// Current CampaignMember and Contact ID
String intCm = Trigger.new[i].Id;
CampaignMember cmm = [Select Contact.id, Start_Date__c, Sales_1__c, Meeting_1__c, Calls_1__c, Kits_1__c from CampaignMember where id =: intCm];

//Step 2. Create a list of Transactions who are children of Contact record.
List<Contact> cnt = [Select Contact.id from Contact where Contact.id =: cmm.Contact.id];
List<Transaction__c> tr3 = [Select Transaction__c.Id, Transaction__c.Gross_Amount__c, Transaction__c.Trade_Date__c From Transaction__c WHERE Transaction__c.Rep__c =: cmm.Contact.id AND Transaction__c.Trade_Date__c <: cmm.Start_Date__c AND Transaction__c.Trade_Date__c >: cmm.Start_Date__c - 30];