function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
TheProjectSolutionTheProjectSolution 

How to Satisfy "test coverage" for a Trigger?

Hi all,

I'll start by saying I'm not a developer by trade, so please bear with me.

I've attempted to tweak some samples discussed on this forum to build a trigger that sends an email notification when an Attachment is added to a Contract record.

I think the code is right, but I don't understand how to write a proper "test class" and how to run it/verify that it's satisfied requirements to move to production.  Although the test class I copied runs successfully and causes the "code coverage" listing on the Apex Trigger in Sanbox to move to 93%, when I then try to move the trigger to production via a Change Set, I get this error:

"Test coverage of selected Apex Trigger is 0%, at least 1% test coverage is required" 

I'm guessing this is because my test class doesn't really test what it needs to (again, I don't really know what I'm doing here :)), but it's weird that I see that "93%" figure in sandbox when production says it's <1%.

If anyone can write a quick test class that WILL work to producitionalize this trigger, please advise!

Here's the trigger:

trigger Send_Email on Attachment (after insert) {
List<Id> contractIds=new List<Id>();
for (Attachment att : trigger.new)
{
contractIds.add(att.parentId);
}
Map<Id, Contract> contracts=new Map<Id, Contract>();
contracts.putAll([select id, Name from Contract where id IN :contractIds]);
Attachment attach = trigger.new[0];
Messaging.SingleEmailMessage mail = new Messaging.SingleEmailMessage();
String[] toAddresses = new String[] {'blahblahblah@gmail.com'};
mail.setToAddresses(toAddresses);
mail.setReplyTo('donotreply@gmail.com');
mail.setSenderDisplayName('Salesforce Support');
Contract contract=contracts.get(attach.parentId);
if (null!=contract)
{