function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ali MeyerAli Meyer 

Really basic Trigger Test Help

I'm brand new to Apex and I'm working on my first trigger, pasted below. Through manual testing, I know that it works--however, i'm not quite sure how to create test code for it (my attempt is also pasted below). 

Any help would be appreciated, and thank you!

Trigger code:

trigger SpouseTrigger on Contact (before insert) {
    List<Contact> cons = new List<Contact>();
    List<Contact> consToInsert = new List<Contact>();

for(Contact c:trigger.new){
        if(c.Sig_Other_First_Name__c != null && c.Sig_Other_Last_Name__c != null){
            cons.add(c);
        }
    }

for(Contact c: cons){
        Contact newCon = new Contact();
        newCon.FirstName = c.Sig_Other_First_Name__c;
        newCon.LastName = c.Sig_Other_Last_Name__c;
        newCon.AccountId = c.AccountId;
        consToInsert.add(newCon);
    }

insert consToInsert;
}

This trigger checks to see if two fields (Sig_Other_First_Name and Sig_Other_Last_Name) are filled in, and if they are, creates a new contact record. The contact record uses the First_Name as the First Name and the Last_Name as the last, and puts the contact within the same account as the original contact.

My attempt at a test:

@istest
private class SpouseTriggerTest
{

static TestMethod void Test1_TestInsertContact()
{
Contact testC1 = new Contact(Text(80)='Test1 Contact', Sig_Other_First_Name__c='John', Sig_Other_Last_Name__c='Smith');
insert testC1;

//pull the account info for that contact
Contact SecContact = [SELECT cv__Contact__c FROM Account WHERE Id = :testc1.id];

//verify that the insert updated by creating another contact as in the trigger
System.assertEquals(testC1.account, SecContact.account);

}
}