function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
pixelpixel 

trigger with nested loops

This is my first trigger. I'm new to the concept of implicit for loops as used in APEX compared to how I originally learned to do them using "for (i=0; i<j,i++)", etc. The references to the first nested loop below generates the following error:

"Didn't understand relationship 'Bhrs__r' in field path. If you are attempting to use a custom relationship, be sure to append the '__r' after the custom relationship name. Please reference your WSDL or the describe call for the appropriate names."

NOTE: My use of the '__r' was an attempt to fix the problem when it didn't understand the relationship without it being there, so I strongly suspect that's not the real problem.

The trigger is intended to act on a custom Time Record containing custom Actual Hours, custom Opportunity link and custom Resource link fields, then recalculate the total Actual Hours used by the Resource on that Opportunity by retrieving all the Actual Hours records for the Resource/Opportunity. Once it does, it uses the two links (Resource and Opportunity) to locate a custom Resource Tracking record and update a field in it called Burnt Hours with the new total of Actual Hours it calculated as having been spent on the Opportunity.

Here's the section of code I'm referring to:

// Declare variables used in loops below
SFL5_SFL5_Time__c BrntH;
SFL5_SFL5_Time__c BrnHrs;
List<SFL5_SFL5_Time__c> BH;