function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ManderMander 

Request Account Ownership

I'm really tired of getting requests to change the account ownership and would like to write some sort of Apex trigger to do the update.  I can't find an example of anyone ever doing this and I'm new to Apex code.  Will this work and if so, do you have something I can start with?

Ideally, it would work almost like the Request Update button with some additional adjustments.   The user would click the button and it would check to see of the current owner is active.  If not, the ownership will change to the current user.  If the owner is active, it will send an email requesting ownership and the current owner can either approve or deny.  If approved the ownership would change, if denied, a rejection email would be sent back to the requester.  

Am I dreaming to big?  I'd really appreciate any help.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
sfdcfoxsfdcfox

Your script could be modified to accommodate that. There's very few reasons why ownership can't be transferred (and most of which wouldn't apply in this scenario), but you can certainly display any resulting error message back to the user.

All Answers

sfdcfoxsfdcfox
Too big? I don't think so. Pretty ambitious for a first project, but I don't see why it can't be accomplished. I don't have anything like this at the moment, but I can give you a few pointers:

* Don't use an action attribute on the page. Make sure the user has a chance to confirm that they actually want to attempt to gain access to the account. This is actually listed as a Security requirement. It's just generally a good idea.

* You can send the email through Apex Code, so make sure you look for that in the documentation.