function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Temple SutfinTemple Sutfin 

Trigger doesnt fire on update of record

I have a trigger that works awesome when I insert a record.  The problem is when I update the parent record, the child records do not populate.

I am quite new to triggers.

The scenario:

A Renewal may / may not be ammoritzed over "x" amount of months.

If renewal is amoritzed, then "Number of months to amortize over" must be entered. (Validation rule covers this)

On save, the trigger inserts the number of child records into Renewal Payments equal to the number of months to amoritze over.

The problem:

This works fantastic if I am inserting a new record.  But if later, I decide to edit an existing record to amortize over, the trigger doesnt fire.  I know that this is because of how I have my current trigger defined (see below) but I dont get how to do an after (or before?) update to solve the problem.  Can someone help me out?

Existing trigger:

trigger renewalAmortPayments on Renewal_Year__c (after insert) {
   List<Renewal_Payment__c> listInsertPayments = new List<Renewal_Payment__c>();
   for(Renewal_Year__c objPayment:Trigger.New) {
       if(objPayment.Number_of_Months_to_Amortize_over__c != NULL) {
           Decimal decVal = objPayment.Number_of_Months_to_Amortize_over__c -1;
           Integer iCount = Integer.ValueOf(decVal);
           for(integer i = 0; i <= iCount; i++){
               Renewal_Payment__c objRenPay = New Renewal_Payment__c();
               objRenPay.Renewal_Year__c = objPayment.id;
               objRenPay.Payment_Number__c = i;
               listInsertPayments.add(objRenPay);
           }
       }
    }
    if(listInsertPayments.size()>0) { insert listInsertPayments; }
}

Some extra info: