function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
kryan0618kryan0618 

Update After Trigger: Update same object

Hi, I am new to APEX development. I have created a new trigger to update a custom field on the Lead object. I have to use 'after update' since I need to have the OwnerId. It works, however, I just KNOW it is not properly coded. Can someone please review and let me know how it really should be? Especially regarding what is referred to as ‘bulkification’?

trigger UpdateLeadOwner2AfterInsertUpdate on Lead (after insert, after update) {

string txtLdID;

for (Lead newLead : [Select Id,OwnerId,Lead_Owner_2__c from Lead where Id in :Trigger.new]) {

// Update the Lead Record
        txtLdID = newLead.OwnerId;
        if (newLead.Lead_Owner_2__c <> newLead.OwnerId && txtLdID.startsWith('00G') == FALSE) {
          newLead.Lead_Owner_2__c = newLead.OwnerId;
          update newLead;
        }  

}

}

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Shailesh DeshpandeShailesh Deshpande
1. The update statement is inside the loop. Remove it. Have a list of Leads, add the individual records to the list at the place where you have written the update statement. And outside the loop, issue an update statement on the list.

2. Since you are updating the same object, this will result in recursive trigger. So you can have a boolean field(default value true), which you set to false while you update the record. If the value of this field is false, dont fire the trigger.

3. Other option would be to have a class and a static boolean variable in that class. Set this field to false before you issue the update statement and add an if statement before the 1st line of your trigger. IF(BOOLEANVARIABLE){your trigger code}

4. If your trigger is only for updating owners, you can add a condition in the for loop: