function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AnetaAneta 

Trigger on Custom Object to update field on Opportuntiy

Hi - I am new to Apex programming and triggers and have a simple question.  We are tracking proposals which are a child to an opportunity.  We may have multiple revisions of a proposal - the most recent is the one we should be using. We have approval process set up on the proposal.

I have a custom field - "Proposal Status" on the Proposal (New, Pending, Approved, or Rejected  - updated through Approval Process field updates). I would like to copy the value from this field from the latest proposal to a correlating field on the Opportunity when the Proposal Status changes. Note: we can have multiple revisions of the same proposal and I want to use the latest one.

I've tried this with roll-up summaries and workflow rules but it doesn't work. Called SFDC support and told that I need a trigger to do this. Can you please help me? I already spent hours on this and I'm about to give up. Nothing seems to work. Please help! Thank you! :)
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Naidu PothiniNaidu Pothini
Trigger UpdateProposalStatusOnOpty on Proposal__c(after insert, after update)
{
	List<Id> OppIds = new List<Id>();
List<Proposal__c> pbList = new List<Proposal__c>(); List<Opportunity> OppList = new List<Opportunity>(); if(trigger.oldMap <> null) { for(Proposal__c PB : Trigger.new) { if(PB.Proposal_Status__c <> trigger.oldMap.get(PB.Id).Proposal_Status__c) { OppIds.add(PB.Opportunity_Name__c)
pbList.add(pb); } } } else { for(Proposal__c PB : Trigger.new) { OppIds.add(PB.Opportunity_Name__c);
pbList.add(pb); } } Map<Id, Opportunity> oppMap = new Map<Id, Opportunity>([SELECT Id, Latest_Proposal_Approval_Status__c FROM Opportunity WHERE Id IN :OppIds]);