function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
NetDNetD 

Help: Auto Populate a a custom look-up field on a custom object

Hi, I am not a coder so I would very much appreciate some help on how to code the follow simple trigger (i think):

I have a custom object that embedded in the Opportunity object with master-detail relationship.

On this custom object I have created a custom look-up field to relate with the User object.

What I need is a trigger to auto-populate this "User " look-up field with the "Opportunity Owner" whenever a record is created on this custom object.

Please help me! thank you!!

RbnRbn
Can you please explain in detail...
NetDNetD

Thanks for your response Rabi.

I have a custom object named "Stage Payments" that has master-detail relationship with Opportunity object, basically this custom object stores payment/invoice info inside each opportunity, so for exmaple if there is one invoice for this opportunity, there will be one "stage payment" record. For sales performance calculation reasons, I need to link "stage payment" record to "User" object, so the system can identify the amount of payment inside this stage payment is related to a particular "User" profile, and this user is the "Opportunity Owner" in the Opportunity object.

I have created a look-up relationship field inside the "stage payment" custom object called "Quota User", and related the field to "User" object.

I need a trigger to auto-populate the "Quota User" field with the "Opportunity Owner" of the opportunity that this "Stage payment" is related to - whenever a stage payment record is created.

Hope this explains a little bit better.....

Thanks!

Ajay.DixitAjay.Dixit

Hi,

We cannot auto populate through triggers how ever we can do it with the help of URL encoding.

see this article: