function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
tengeltengel 

Retrieve Activity.WhoId.RecordTypeId

Hello, Apex newbie here.

Can anyone help me along in the right direction? I would like to update a a custom Activity checkbox field to TRUE if the WhoId of an Activity equals a certain record type. In my non-Apex layman's formula terms, it's something like this:

IF Activity.WhoId.RecordTypeId = "01260000000LyEL", My_Checkbox__c = TRUE, FALSE

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
sfdcfoxsfdcfox
trigger updateTaskCheckbox on Task(before insert, before update) {
  map<id,lead> leads = new map<id,lead>();
  for(task record:trigger.new)
    if(record.whoid!=null&&record.whoid.getsobjecttype()==lead.sobjecttype)
    leads.put(record.whoid,null);
  leads.putAll([select id,recordtype.developername from lead where id in :leads.keyset()]);
    record.My_Checkbox__c = leads.containskey(record.whoid) && leads.get(record.whoid).recordtype.developername=='Record_Type_Name';
}

Replace all instance of "lead" with "contact" if that is the object you're using instead. Don't use an ID value, because that will make your work more challenging later. Use the Developer Name instead.

This is a basic aggregate-query-update pattern. First, I gather all record IDs that are leads. Then, I query those leads for their record type. Finally, I update the tasks with the information. Note that I can assign a boolean result directly to a checkbox, which removes the need to say "if(...) ... checkbox = true; else checkbox = false;" This comes in handy when you're trying to bump up your code coverage.

Edit: Fixed typo.

All Answers

sfdcfoxsfdcfox
trigger updateTaskCheckbox on Task(before insert, before update) {
  map<id,lead> leads = new map<id,lead>();