function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Oliver_DunfordOliver_Dunford 

Insert Child Record on Parent Record Insert

Hi There, 

I'm new to APEX and I'm struggling to get some code working.  I wanted to make it nice and neat and do things right rather than swamping it all with for loops etc.  A single Slot__c record will be created and them I'm looking to insert a list of records into a child object (master detail).

My code below goes off and returns a list of Treatment__c records and inserts into a map.  All is well so far.  I am now struggling with the following:

1. The trigger fires after the creation of a Slot__c record.  For each inserted parent I would like to also insert the Slot__c.Id value into a variable within the Map so I can relate the child record to it's parent upon insertion.

2. My SOQL query WHERE clause has duration hard coded to <= '100'.  I would like to include the Slot__c.Duration field from the Parent Record here instead.

3. I then want to take my map and insert all these records into an object Available_Treatments__c.  I'm struggling to do this as well.

I'm pretty new to all this, so help would be appreciated.  I may well be over complicating it.

trigger InsertAvailableTreatments on Slots__c (after insert) {

Map<id,List<Treatment__c>> mapTreatmentObj = new Map<id,List<Treatment__c>>();
for(Treatment__c tr : [SELECT Id, Name, Account__c, Duration__c FROM Treatment__c WHERE Duration__c <= '100']) {
List<Treatment__c> treatmentsForKey = mapTreatmentObj.get(tr.Id);
if (treatmentsForKey == null) {
treatmentsForKey = new List<Treatment__c>();
mapTreatmentObj.put(tr.Id, treatmentsForKey);
}
treatmentsForKey.add(new Treatment__c( Id = tr.Id, Name = tr.Name, Duration__c = tr.Duration__c, Account__c = tr.Account__c ));
System.Debug('Name' + tr.Name);
}

}