function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
INW_BryanINW_Bryan 

Updating records on cousin custom object

We have an app that is made up of almost entirely custom objects. Creating a smoothe workflow for our users is vital for this app. I'm new to apex, but familiar with basic code writting.

Here are the relationships between the objects: (--< = 1 to many, M/D = Master/Detail)

Object_a --< Object_b --M/D--< Object_c

Object_a --M/D--< Object_d

When a user populates a date field on Object_c and saves, we'd like a date field on all related records on Object_d (i.e. all Object_d's records for that specific Object_a record) to be updated with the same value. 

Any help is appreciated.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
JayNicJayNic

So if I'm reading your schema right:

D looks up to A with a Master Detail

C looks up to B with a master detail

B loops up to A with a lookup

So to write a trigger to do this AND make sure it's batchable - because you could easily hit limits doing this I would do the following:

1) Create a formula field on object C that references object A's id (example: ObjectAId__c).

The formula would be something like: "CASESAFEID(ObjectB__r.ObjectA__c)"

This will minimize soql queries and make maintenace easier

2) create a batchable trigger as follows:

trigger ObjectC_aU on ObjectC__c (after update){
/*
Processes:
	Set the dates on cousin D objects based on our date
*/
	map<id,date> objectADates = map<id,date>(); //Create a map of Object A ids to object c dates
	for(objectC__c c : trigger.new) {
		ObjectC__c old = trigger.oldMap.get(c.id); //Reference the previous values from the update
		if(old.DateField__c != c.DateField__c) { //If we are changed - then we have an update to do!
			if(objectADates.get(c.ObjectAId__c) == null) {
				objectADates.put(c.ObjectAId__c,c.DateField__c);