function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BenjaminBBenjaminB 

Auto populate email template, add attachment and change record status

Hi guys,

I'm new to SFDC and I'm trying to achieve some automation for my co-workers.

What I've done is build a visual workflow that guides my co-workers through a wizard in which they choose a contract, fill in the required fields and then automatically submits their request for approval. So far so good.

Now for the second stage:

After I've approved the request, I create a document and upload it to the record and send an email to the person that requested the contract, the account owner (AO).

Now the account owner needs to 1)click "send an email" 2)pick the template 3) add the recipient's email address 4)add the email address of a couple of co-workers (always the same) 4) attach the document 5) click send 6) change the record status to "sent to partner".

The thing is that a lot of the information is always the same and should therefore not have to be entered manually. People tend to forget to add the co-workers to the cc, attach the document and most of all: they forget to change the status.

So I'm looking for a way to make something that populates everything (template, cc, attachment) and then sends the email when the user clicks and then finally changes the record status.

I have a couple of years of programming experience, but not with Java and I simply do not get how it works in SFDC. I tried to copy/paste the code of a plugin into the developer console and then saving it, but it wouldn't let me. This was for the first part to submit a record for approval. When I uploaded it with the ANT it did work, so the code was fine. What I'm trying to say is that I do understand (java) code, but I have no clue how to implement it into SFDC.