function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Developer.mikie.Apex.StudentDeveloper.mikie.Apex.Student 

Automatically set picklist

Hi there,

I am very new to Apex triggers....so new that this is the first one I have attempted that isn't from a workbook. Everyone has to start somewhere though I guess.

I assume that this will be quite simple and so I will describe my situation as best I can and hopefully, someone will have an idea on how I can solve my problem.

I have a custom object (Destiny products and services), this custom object has a lookup field to another custom object (product). When creating a new 'destiny product and service" I have made formula fields which autopopulate fields from the Product object, relating to which product the record creator chose from the Product lookup field.

This has all worked fine as I just needed a simple formula field, however the products and services have differing stages, types, etc depending on the product or service chosen. 

I attempted to accomplish this by creating a picklist field within each custom object which states the names of all the products or services, I then created dependant picklists in relation to what choice was made in the name picklist and then made this hidden. 

I want to make this as simple as possible for the user and so I intend to make it so that when the lookup field is selected, it will autopopulate the name picklist so it is the same as the lookup field and then the Destiny product or services record will have stages and type which will be related to the product chosen. 

I need to write an apex trigger which will set the picklist value in the products and services object, to be the same as the picklist option from the record chosen in the lookup field (product object).