function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
James S.ax1698James S.ax1698 

Newby code help please

Hi everyone, whilst I have some background in coding in visual basic, I am brand new to apex triggers, but I am having a go. What I'm trying to do is say populate field 'Next Activity Date' on opportunities, based on an open activity linked to the opportunity. The code below is a combination of what I have been able to piece together from websites and this message board so it is obviously a bit rubbish and doesnt work, but hopefully you can see where I'm going. I'd really really appreciate any help anyone can provide me :-)

trigger LastActivity on Opportunity (after insert, after update) {

For (Opportunity opp : Trigger.new)

List<Opportunity> OpsToUpdate = [SELECT (SELECT ActivityDate,
                                                                                                  Description,
                                                                                                   Subject
                                                                                                FROM OpenActivities)
                                                                                                 FROM Opportunity];

System.debug(opp.OpenActivities);
}

Opportunity.Next_Step_Date__c = OpenActivities.ActivityDate

OpsToUpdate.add(opp);
}

Bhawani SharmaBhawani Sharma
1. You do not need trigger on insert event as at the time of opportunity insert, there can not be any activity associated with it.

2. I think, you should have this trigger on Event instead of opportunity. So if any activity is associated with the Opportunity, it will automatically update the Opportunity's Next Step Date.