function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
cruttley2cruttley2 

I have my first simple trigger that is working, but I dont know how to write a test class.

I am not an Apex developer, but I have been able to get my first simple trigger working in my sandbox. However, I am wondering if someone could guide me throught the writing of a Test Class, so that I can get this promoted to production. All help greatly appreciated. Here is my trigger code:

// This trigger assigns a value to the QuoteLineItem Product Description Formatted field from a PriceBookEntry field
// before Quote Line Items are saved to the database.

trigger QuoteLineItemProductDescriptionFormatted on QuoteLineItem (before insert) {

// Determine the distinct pricebook entries
    Set<ID> pbeIds = new Set<ID>();
    for (QuoteLineItem oli : Trigger.new)
        pbeIds.add(oli.pricebookentryid);

// Query the pricebook entries
    Map<Id, PricebookEntry> entries = new Map<Id, PricebookEntry>(
        [select product2.Product_Description_Formatted__c from pricebookentry
         where id in :pbeIds]);

// Now set the Product Description Formatted on the Quote line items
    for (QuoteLineItem oli : Trigger.new)      
        oli.Product_Description_Formatted__c = entries.get(oli.pricebookEntryId).product2.Product_Description_Formatted__c;

}

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
sfdcfoxsfdcfox
Basically, your test code just needs to create a product, add it to a price book (create a price book entry record), create an opportunity, then a quote, then a quote line item. Finally, you should re-query the record value and make sure that it matches the expected value.

All Answers

sfdcfoxsfdcfox