function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
anup-prakashanup-prakash 

Trigger Issue

Hi I have writen a trigger and it is not achieving what I want it to achieve.

I have a master-detail relation between a Prod__c(Master) and Prod_Detail__c (Detail)

Prod__c  has the following Fields:

Name,

Manufacturer__c

Description__c

Prod_Detail__c has the following Fields:

Prod__c (reference)

Name (labeled Lot Name)

Quantity__c

what I am wanting to do with the help of trigger is to check if there is a duplicate entry on Prod_Detail__c  if there is then

It should update the quantity sum .. in case of insert as well as update.. this is what I have written but its still adding a duplicate record record and updating the field as well. I am stuck..

trigger CheckDuplicateBatchNumber on Prod_Detail__c (before insert, before update) {

map<String, Prod_Detail__c> pdMap = new map<String, Prod_Detail__c>();  // map of match number to product name

//check Duplicate Entry
	for(Prod_Detail__c pd : Trigger.new){
		if(trigger.isInsert || trigger.oldmap.get(pd.id).Name != pd.Name){
			String pdName = pd.Name.toUpperCase();
			if(!(pdMap.containskey(pdName))){

pdMap.put(pdName,pd);
			}
			else if(pdMap.containskey(pdName)){ //update Quantity
				Prod_Detail__c pdObject = new Prod_Detail__c();
				pdObject = pdMap.get(pdName);
				pdObject.Quantity__c = pd.Quantity__c + pdObject.Quantity__c ;
				pdMap.put(pdName,pdObject);
			}
		}
	}

list<Prod_Detail__c> upsertList = new list<Prod_Detail__c>();

if(pdMap.size()!= Null){
		for(String pName : pdMap.keyset()){ 
			for(Prod_Detail__c pd: [Select ID, Name, Quantity__c, MRP__c, Prod__c, Unit_Price__c from Prod_Detail__c where Name IN :pdMap.keySet()]){
				if((pd.Name.equalsIgnoreCase(pName))&&(pd.Prod__c == pdMap.get(pName).Prod__c)){