function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
GilzGilz 

Debugging Trigger

Hi all,

I am new to Salesforce, and I'm spending much time on this first trigger that I'm trying to deploy.

I feel like I am almost done creating it, but I get one problem with the trigger, and one with the test.

The goal of the trigger is to prevent the delete of contacts of record type 'contractor'. The reasoning bhind it is that Contractors often have child objects that I don't want to be deleted with them.

Here are the codes, and the problems (the lines where they appear are red).

Trigger:

//Prevent deleting a contact that is associated with a 203k disbursement

RecordType r =[Select id, name from RecordType where sobject='Contact' and name='Contractor'];

trigger dontDelete on Contact (before delete)
  {
  for (Contact x : Trigger.old)
  {
    if (x.RecordTypeId==r.id)
    {
      x.addError('You cannot delete this an account of type "Contractor"');
    }
  }
}

Probelm: unexpected token: RecordType

test:

@isTest
private class TestDontDelete
{
  static testMethod void myUnitTest()
  {
    List<Contact> con = [SELECT id FROM Contact WHERE RecordTypeId in (SELECT Id FROM RecordType WHERE sobject='Contact' and         name='Contractor')];

try
    {
      delete con;
    }
    catch (dmlexception e)
    {
      system.assert(e.getMessage().contains('You cannot delete this an account of type "Contractor"'),
      e.getMessage());
    }
  }
}

Problem: No such column 'sboject' on entity 'RecordType'. If you are attempting to use a custon field, be sure to append the '__c' after the custom field name. Please reference your WSDL or the describe call for the appropriate names.

Thank you all very much,

Gil

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Avidev9Avidev9

You need lil house keeping here

{