function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Developer.mikie.Apex.StudentDeveloper.mikie.Apex.Student 

Example code for an apex trigger that will set a lookup based upon a picklist field

Hi there,

I am new to apex and was wondering if someone would be able to help me out by providing some example code on how I would write an apex trigger which sets the value of a lookup field based on identical values in a picklist.

Any help would be much appreciated,

Mikie

(Apex Rookie)

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
ekorzekorz

Gonna use some abbreviations, your object names are really long!

Adding another picklist wouldn't matter at all.  When someone picks "Picklist Value One" on your picklist from DS, you're looking to update the DP reference field so that it points to the actual DPAS record that's named "Picklist Value One", right?  The thing is, that record isn't really named "Picklist Value One", that's just the field dpas__c.Name.  That's why we need to query for the record ID belonging to the thing named "Picklist Value One".  Then the reference field on DP needs to be set to the dpas__c.id, which is a salesforce 15 digit ID.

That's what the trigger does. 

Trigger GrabReference on Destiny_Products__c (before insert, before update) { //do this trigger before inserts & updates

//it only fires if the picklist is filled in

for (Destiny_Products__c  dp: trigger.new) {
       if(dp.Product_Hidden_Picklist__c != null) {   

//queries for 1 record's ID, being the record ID where the dpas.Name field is the same as the dp.picklist field that fired the trigger

List<Destiny_Products_and_Services__c> dpas = new List<Destiny_Products_and_Services__c>();