function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
davidCe17icdavidCe17ic 

Trigger to Flag potential duplicate Cases in Salesforce

I am new to triggers in SFDC and have created a trigger to flag potential duplicate Cases. I am querying the SuppliedEmail, ContactId and IsClosed values on Cases. It works when a Contact creates a new Case in SFDC when they already have a case open, however if I close/delete,  the potential duplicate case, the checkbox remains ticked. I was trying to use an after insert, after update action but was receiving a System.FinalException: Record is read-only error. Any help is appreciated. 

Here is the code:

trigger PotentialDupe on Case (before insert, before update) {
List<Case> DupeCases = new List<Case>();
for (Case c : Trigger.new){

Case [] cases = [SELECT id, ContactId, SuppliedEmail, isClosed FROM Case WHERE SuppliedEmail = :c.SuppliedEmail AND ContactId = :c.ContactId AND isClosed = FALSE];

if (cases.size() > 0) {
c.Potential_Duplicate_Case__c = TRUE;
}else
c.Potential_Duplicate_Case__c = FALSE;
}
update DupeCases;
}

k_bentsenk_bentsen

Although I can't say for certain, my guess is that the IsClosed field remains flagged as TRUE until after the DML operation completes, so your SOQL query would still return a record during "before" execution. Again, it's just speculation, so I don't really know. Also, the reason you get the exception is you cannot directly assign values to a record during "after" execution, you must use DML operations to update the record.

I would also suggest that you move your SOQL outside your loop as that is a best practice to avoid hitting governor limits. The structure I generally follow with my triggers is (in this example for Case): 

trigger CaseTrigger (<DML operation(s)>){
    List<Id> casesIds = new List<Id>();
    for(Case c: Trigger.new){