function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
case commentscase comments 

Update Trigger best practices

Hello,

I'm fairly new to writing apex. I've written the following code to update the status of the case to match that of another dropdown(JIRA_Status2__c) on the case.  This trigger should only fire when JIRA_Status2__c changes and if the recordtype matches.

The code works, but I would like to know if I've written too much to achieve such a basic update.  Thanks for the input in advance. It wil help me to learn how to code better in the future.

trigger UpdateJiraOnlyRT on Case (after update) {

//create list of case IDs
    List<ID>cid = new List<ID>();

//add cases to list for only cases that has JIRA Status2 dropdown changed AND recordtype=012A00000017NFl

for (Case c: Trigger.new){
        Case oldCase = Trigger.oldMap.get(c.Id);
        if((oldCase.JIRA_Status2__c != c.JIRA_Status2__c) && (c.RecordTypeID=='012A00000017NFl')){
            cid.add(c.ID);}
    }

//update the list  
    List<Case>updatecase =[SELECT Id, Status, JIRA_Status2__c from Case WHERE Id IN:cid];
    for(Case c2:updatecase){
        c2.Status = c2.JIRA_Status2__c;
    }

update updatecase;

}

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Alex.AcostaAlex.Acosta

It really depends on what you want your end goal to be...

My best practice in general is to try and avoid using any static variable when possible, so I would first get rid of your static RecordTypeId.

Secondly I believe you can shorten this trigger... try this out and let me know if it helps... remember to properly ajust the RecordType query in my sample code.

trigger UpdateJiraOnlyRT on Case (before update) {