function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
LakshmiGenLakshmiGen 

How to send remainder Mails using apex code

Hi,

I need to send Remainder mails to users based on specific period of time using apex ccode.Could you please help me on this. As i am new to this sales force idont have idea.

Please share sample code or links which will be useful to complete my Task.

Regards

Lakshmi Prasanna.

kirkevonphillykirkevonphilly

I've done this in the past by creating a custom "Reminder" object and utilizing a scheduled Apex class.  Within the class, I had a query that looked at records in my Reminder object to gather up recipients of the "reminders."  It did so by using a "Next Reminder Date," returning the records where that date was today().  

The class then worked with the results to send out the email.  After sending the email, it either cleaned up helper object records that no longer needed reminders or scheduled the next reminder.

The schedulable Apex class was scheduled to run every day at a specific time.

Vadim RudkovVadim Rudkov

I don't think you necessarily need to use apex code for this purpose. Maybe you will succeed with workflow rules and email alerts. Have a look at https://na1.salesforce.com/help/doc/en/salesforce_workflow_cheatsheet.pdf

Michael_TorchedloMichael_Torchedlo

As the other commenters have said, there is more than one solution for this, so it depends on your use case.  Please describe in more detail what kind of reminder you are trying to produce?

For example:

Suppose you want to send a reminder email any time a user creates an opportunity and forgets to add products.  You can do this with a regular workflow rule and email notification.  Any opportunity meeting the conditions generates its own email alert.