function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Victor19Victor19 

Insert Child Record before insert of parent record

Hi,

I am working on a requirement in which I am trying to insert a child record while creating the parent record.

My parent object is the Case Object and my child object is a Custom Object called People__c. Through the use of a Custom button, I would like to create a People__c record. Basically, when the user clicks the button on the case record, the user will be taken to the People__c object, all the necessary details can be filled in and once the people record is saved, the user will be redirected back to the case record that has not still been saved to the database.

I have never worked on a requirement like this before. Any suggestions or sample code would greatly help me out.

Thanks!

VennilaVennila

Hi ,

You can achieve this using intermediate Visualforce and Apex controller.

Use Content source is Visualforce Page, While creating a custom button for the Case object. And take a look of the model codings as shown below,

Visualforce Page

Standard Controller is your Master object.

<apex:page standardcontroller="Contract_Summary__c" extensions="ConvertContractControl" action="{!convertcontract}">

</apex:page>

Controller:

public with sharing class ConvertContractControl {

public Contract_Summary__c cs{get;set;}   // Use your Master Object here.
public ContractAdmin__c ca{get;set;}  // This is child object.
    public ConvertContractControl(ApexPages.StandardController controller) {

cs=(Contract_Summary__c)controller.getRecord();

}
public pageReference convertcontract()
{
cs=[select Community__c from Contract_Summary__c  where id=:cs.id limit 1];
ca=new ContractAdmin__c(Community__c=cs.Community__c);
insert ca;