function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
The_A-RodThe_A-Rod 

Trigger check and wrong landing page

Hi all,

I'm totally new to Apex and am trying to leverage a template on another thread.

What I need is that whenever a custom picklist field called Software__c equals 'Fusion' and the record is updated on a custom object called User_Signature__c, a checkbox field called Fusion_User is ticked on the associated Contact.

The code below worked first time, which seems too good to be true, so I'm worried it's executing something I can't see or haven't noticed! Does it look correct?

The only other thing is that after the trigger updates the Fusion_User__c field, you're directed to the Contact. I need the page to stay on the User Signature record updated. How would I do that?

trigger IsFusionUser on User_Signature__c (before insert, before update) {

List<ID> ContactIds = New List<ID>();

for(User_Signature__c o : Trigger.new){
    if(o.Software__c == 'Fusion' && o.Contact__c != null){
      ContactIds.add(o.Contact__c);
    }
  }

List<Contact> ContactList = [SELECT id, Fusion_user__c FROM Contact WHERE id in :ContactIds];
  for(integer i = 0 ; i < ContactList.size(); i++){
    ContactList[i].Fusion_user__c = true;
  }

update ContactList;
}

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

To improve the efficiency you can simply query back those contacts where the field is currently false.

List<Contact> ContactList = [SELECT id, Fusion_user__c FROM Contact WHERE id in :ContactIds and Fusion_User__c = false];
  }

update ContactList;

The trigger has no control over the landing page - there may not even be a page if the update is triggered from a data load for example. That side of things is handled by the platform if it is a standard page or the controller if it is a visualforce page.