function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KevinA.ax1880KevinA.ax1880 

Trigger to affect relate objects when a record is updated to active = 0

Hi, We are just getting started with SalesForce, and I am a developer proficient in .Net & SQL, I am having a hard time finding examples for updating child records of a custom object when it has it's status updated. I believe a trigger are what I am looking for, but the examples I am finding are all very generic. I would like some help in how to reference current the record's ID and how to perform an update of related child records. The two paradiagms I am familiar with are vb.net recordsets & SQL updates. I am literally starting with nothing: trigger trDeleteRelatedRecipients on Report_Package__c (after update) { } Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
firechimpfirechimp

Hi Kevin,

Sorry I haven't been around to help more, it has been a busy week.

The modifications to the code that you have made look pretty good to me!

But I would make the following changes, so you are only doing one DML statment, rather than it been in a loop.

Also you don't need the try catch unless you wish to throw your own custom exception messages, you can do this as shown in the example in the updated code below:

public class  ReportPackageHelper {
    /**
    * @description Delete the related recipients
    **/
    public static void deleteRecipients(Map<Id,Report_Package__c> oldMap, Map<Id,Report_Package__c> newMap){
        List<Id> reportPackagesMatchingCriteria = new List<Id>();

//1. find all records we want to modify (this should be bulkified)
        for(Id rpId : oldMap.keySet()){
            //check if status has changed to active
            if(oldMap.get(rpId).Active__c == true && newMap.get(rpId).Active__c == false){