function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
strangebiscuitstrangebiscuit 

Trigger to relate entries on two custom objects on bulk upload

I've been trying to puzzle out this problem with various roundabout methods for some time on Professional Edition, but we just upgraded to Enterprise and it seems like apex triggers would be the most effective way to implement this. I wonder if anyone could provide any advice or guidance, as I'm pretty new to apex.

We're trying to use Salesforce to store and organize some payroll info that is provided to us in the form of Excel spreadsheets. They are basically lists of sales which include the name and ID of the rep who made the sale. We need to upload these on a weekly basis and then be able to view the sales made by each rep. 

So basically we have two custom objects, "Sales" and "Reps". We upload a list of sales (in .csv format) into the Sales object each week. We want to make it so that every time a Sale entry gets created it is assigned to the Rep who made that sale (Sales has a master-detail relationship with Reps). Each sale lists the Name and ID# of the rep who made it, but not the Salesforce ID of the corresponding Rep entry. So it seems we need the apex trigger to match each Sale to the correct Rep by comparing the Name and/or ID fields in both objects.

Does this sound plausible and make sense? Could anyone provide any insight on how I might get started? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. We also need to assign "points" to each Rep based on the status of each sale that gets added...but I suppose that will come after. I've been told this might be accomplished with workflow rules, but obviously we first need to find a way of associating each Sale with the correct Rep

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Satish_SFDCSatish_SFDC