function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ekorzekorz 

Serialize Child record(s), create JSON body

Hello!

I'm pretty new to JSON methods so forgive me if this doesn't make 100% sense...

I built an Apex class that passes JSON data from Salesforce to Netsuite.  I call the class from a Button (javascript) on a Parent record.  All works fine.

Before, I was just building the JSON Body manually before (code below) since it seemed easy at the time.  Now, I've got to figure out a way to query the Parent's Child records, serialize those children into the JSON, and pass the whole thing at once.

So, my previous method was for my button to pass in the values for the Strings 'recordType', 'entity', 'job', 'item', 'quantity', 'amount, and just build the JSON Body by hand since the field names needed to be set:

HttpRequest req = new HttpRequest();
HttpResponse res = new HttpResponse();
Http http = new Http();

//set my headers & endpoint, deleted for this board post

req.setBody('{"recordtype":"'+recordType+'", "entity":"'+entity+'", "job":"'+job+'","item":[{"item":"'+item+'", "quantity":"'+quantity+'", "amount":"'+amount+'"}]}');

res = http.send(req);

Notice the nested "item":[{item/quantity/amount}] area?  Well, I have multiple "item" sections -- one per child record -- that I need to get in this JSON.  The Parent has the recordtype, entity, and job.  So ideally I could, in the class, query for the child records and produce a new JSON body that ends up with multiple item sets like this:

req.setBody('{"recordtype":"'+recordType+'", "entity":"'+entity+'", "job":"'+job+'","item":[
{"item":"'+item[1]+'", "quantity":"'+quantity[1]+'", "amount":"'+amount[1]+'"},
{"item":"'+item[2]+'", "quantity":"'+quantity[2]+'", "amount":"'+amount[2]+'"},
{"item":"'+item[n..]+'", "quantity":"'+quantity[n..]+'", "amount":"'+amount[n..]+'"},
]}');