function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
CBradley1985CBradley1985 

Compile Error: Test methods must be in test classes at line 171 column 24

Hello,

I am extremely new to APEX so please don't laugh at me...

I have a piece of code that we paid for and the API Version is 23.0 and I need to copy this code and create a new class so that I can use a different button that we have to run the seperate code after I sweek a couple things. (Mainly just values on the new opportunity.)

And with version 28 or higher I get these errors. I have tried to find a place to get the Force.com IDE v.27 or earlier and haven't had much luck.

1. If you could point me to a place that I can get this earlier version so I can use eclipse to impliment into the sandbox with the IDE plug-in that would be fantastic.

2. Or if you want to take a peek at the piece of code and tell me what needs to be changed to make it work I'd love to learn. (Trust me, I'm not one to just say give me the answer...I want to learn it!)

This seems to be the piece that's getting me into trouble. Again, I appreciate ANY help.

Thanks!

Chris

@isTest

public static void testCloneOpportunity()

{

OpportunityLineItem line = [select OpportunityId from OpportunityLineItem limit 1];

CloneOpportunity.clone(line.OpportunityId);

}

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
nathaForcenathaForce

Hi Chris,

Looking a little further, this question was asked (and answered) on this thread: http://salesforce.stackexchange.com/questions/12516/spring-13-test-methods-must-be-in-test-classes-error where salesforce prevents test methods from being implemented within regular classes (starting version 28).

Here is a link to a tutorial on creating test classes: http://wiki.developerforce.com/page/An_Introduction_to_Apex_Code_Test_Methods