function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
MVDMVD 

Test Class Assistance for My First Trigger

Hello! The amazing people in the developer zone at Dreamforce this year inspired me to start learning apex triggers and visualforce (I am a certified admin currently). I have my first trigger completed without errors and now I need to see if it works!! This is very exciting.  It seems I need to create a new APEX CLASS to test this trigger (the trigger is below).

I have been reading through the online workbooks but really am not sure how to start the logic on this (except to create new class and use the public class type).  Thank you in advance for anyone willing to guide me in the right direction!!!

trigger HPAJunctionAutoRefresh on HPA__c (after update) {

for( HPA__c parent: Trigger.new)
{

//LIST ALL CHILD RECORDS UNDER HPA_JUNCTION OBJECT AND COMPARE TO PARENT EVERY TIME THE HPA_PARENT IS EDITED
//AND UPDATE THE STATUS FIELD ON CHILD HPA_JUNCTION TO MATCH HPA_PARENT SO THAT WORKFLOWS ARE ACTIVATED TO UPDATE THE ACCOUNT
//WHICH IS THE SECOND MASTER-DETAIL RELATIONSHIP TO THE HPA_JUNCTION

List<HPA_Property_Junction__c> children = [ SELECT Id, HPA_Name__c, HPA_Current_Status_Snapshot__c from
HPA_Property_Junction__c where HPA_Name__r.id = :parent.Id];

List<HPA_Property_Junction__c> childrenToUpdate = new List<HPA_Property_Junction__c>();

for(HPA_Property_Junction__c thischild: children )
{
if( thischild.HPA_Current_Status_Snapshot__c != parent.HPA_Current_Status_Text__c)
{
thischild.HPA_Current_Status_Snapshot__c = parent.HPA_Current_Status_Text__c;
childrenToUpdate.add(thischild)
;
}

if( !childrenToUpdate.isEmpty())
{
update childrenToUpdate;
}

}
}
}

HCrousePDXHCrousePDX