function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
pacstratspacstrats 

Visualforce Wizard Issues

I'm fairly new to Visualforce but a long-time user of SFDC. I am trying to create a simple wizard to walk users through 5 pages of one form instead of one long form per the usual SFDC UI. I am running into a major issue:

I have a number of validations set-up and beyond requiring certain fields, I have no idea how to prevent the user from continuing to the next page if there are validation issues. This is an issue since the whole process crashes if the user saves the record without fixing the issues.

I tried to copy as much from the example in the Cookbook but I've hit a wall.

Here is my code (substitute x for < due to posting issues):

Page 1 of 5 (all of the VF pages use the same logic/framework)

xapex: page standardController="Penrose_Project__c" extensions="PenroseProjectWizard" tabStyle="Penrose_Project__c">
xapex:sectionHeader title="New Project"
subtitle="Location - Step 1 of 5"/>
xapex:form >
xapex: pageBlock >

xapex: pageBlockButtons >
xapex:commandButton action="{!cancel}" value="Cancel"/>
xapex:commandButton action="{!step2}" value="Next"/>
x/apex: pageBlockButtons>

xapex: pageBlockSection columns="2" title="Location Information">
xapex: outputField value="{!PenProj.Name}"/>
x/br>
xapex:inputField id="building" value="{!PenProj.P_Building__c}" required="TRUE"/>
x/br>
xapex:inputField id="floor" value="{!PenProj.P_Floor__c}" required="TRUE"/>
x/apex: pageBlockSection>

xapex: pageBlockSection columns="2" title="Departments Affected">
xapex:inputField id="above" value="{!PenProj.Above__c}" required="TRUE"/ style="width:300px">
xapex:inputField id="below" value="{!PenProj.Below__c}" required="TRUE"/ style="width:300px">
xapex:inputField id="north" value="{!PenProj.North__c}" required="TRUE"/ style="width:300px">