function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JvalleeJvallee 

Access Page Component w/ Apex

I'm still new to this, so hopefully I am using the right terms:

I have created a Controller Extention as an Apex class that will in effect override the !save of the standard controller.  What I was hoping to do is save a field to a related object in this method, which I have been able to do, but I need to get the value that I will write from an <apex:inputField> page component.  Is this possible? I can't seem to find a way to reference these components in Apex.
Code:
public class LeadTouchExtension{

public final Lead_Touch__c leadTouch;

//Create a new save action
   ApexPages.Action saveAction = new ApexPages.Action('{!LeadTouchSave( string )}');

public LeadTouchExtension ( ApexPages.StandardController stdController )
   {
      this.leadTouch = (Lead_Touch__c)stdController.getRecord();
   }

public void LeadTouchSave()
   {
      try{

for( Lead relatedLead : [Select ID, Salutation, FirstName, LastName FROM lead WHERE Lead.ID = :leadTouch.Lead__c LIMIT 1 ] )
         {
            //this needs to reference the Form and any pageBlock (maybe page block section) by name.                
            relatedLead.FirstName = ***Need to reference page component here!***  

update relatedLead;

}

}
      catch( DmlException ex )
      {
         ApexPages.addMessages(ex);
      }

}

}

jeremy_rossjeremy_ross
Are you familiar with binding component values to controller properties?  If not, take a look at http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/pages/index_CSH.htm#pages_quick_start_input_components.htm

Jeremy
JvalleeJvallee

Jeremy, thanks so much for the reply.  I checked out the link that you posted, I've read it a few times and I'm sorry to say that I don't see the solution, but maybe I'm still too new at this.