function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SGrabo_NutriciaSGrabo_Nutricia 

Binding SelectList control to custom object

I'm a newbie to VF, so please be gentle...

I'm attempting to have a dropdown SelectList presented in a PageBlockTable so that adding new mass-insert records can be typified by a value drawn from another table. 

I have a simple custom object (Details) with only two editable fields: quantity and product ID. The product ID is to be drawn from a dropdown built from the Product2 table. I'd like to have the ID value of the product bound to the Details.ProductID__c value. This should be done in-line with the entry of the quantity, but I can't get the product SelectList to appear within the PageBlockTable.

My Apex:

<apex:page controller="DetailTesting"> <apex:form > <apex:PageBlock title="Products with a product type of 'Product'" tabstyle="Product2"> <apex:pageBlockButtons location="top"> <apex:commandButton value="Save" action="{!save}" rerender="error"/> </apex:pageBlockButtons> <b>Products</b><apex:selectList value="{!productList}" size="1"> <apex:selectOptions value="{!lowProteinProducts}"/> </apex:selectList> <apex:pageBlockTable value="{!sampleLowProtein}" var="a" id="table"> <apex:facet name="footer"> <apex:commandLink value="Add Row" action="{!addRow}" rerender="table,error"/> </apex:facet> <apex:column headerValue="Quantity"> <apex:inputField value="{!a.Quantity__c}"/> </apex:column> <apex:column headerValue="Name"> <apex:inputField value="{!a.Name}"/> </apex:column> </apex:pageBlockTable> </apex:PageBlock> </apex:form> </apex:page>

And my controller: