function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
NinoJoseNinoJose 

Reason why action attribute of apex:page should not be used for initialization

Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new with VisualForce development although I had some experience using Apex Code,SControl and a little of Flex. I was doing some practice developing visualforce pages and reading the component reference page when I saw that the documentation says that on <apex:page>,  "the action attribute should not be used for initialization".  What could be the reason?

I tried initializing the variable when its declared like below:

public class sampleController{
   Integer x = getCounter();

public Integer getCounter(){
     }
}

And I also used the attribute action for a page example:

VF Page
<apex:page action="{!init}" controller="sampleController">
</apex:page>

Controller
public class sampleController{
     Integer x = 0;
     public PageReference init(){
          x = getCounter();
          return null;
     }

public Integer getCounter(){
     }
}

And I don't see any difference on using these 2 methods of initializing. Could it be that the two methods differ on the number of Roundtrips for Client to Server?

Any thoughts would be helpul.

Thanks,

Nino

Message Edited by NinoJose on 12-30-2008 01:18 PM
jwetzlerjwetzler
If you want to do initialization you should do it in the constructor of your controller, since that will happen when the instance of the class is created.  The action attribute is really only useful for redirecting, specifically conditional redirecting.