function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JPatrick76JPatrick76 

Considerering the Transfer from PC to Mac

I am a salesforce consultant that is considering the MacBook Pro instead of another PC.  Can anyone on this board enlighten me on why I should or should not do this? I hear so many great things about the Macbook and I have kicked the tires in the Apple Store.  I'm just curious what your thoughts are?
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
JPatrick76JPatrick76
Thanks for the feedback.  I really appreciate your comments.

All Answers

JackTinsleyJackTinsley

I'm on my second year with my first Mac (MacBook Pro 17) and have never regretted the move.  When I first moved over I needed to run Windows in Parallels for certain apps but at this point I'm almost off of it completely.  The one thing that we've seen a little tricky with Salesforce and Macs is merge documents.  The original implementation was Windows only since it used ActiveX to populate the template on the client machine.  There is not IE or ActiveX on a Mac.  Salesforce came up with an alternative merge document technology which does it on the server side - this works but if you have a mixed environments of Windows and Mac it's hard to find a happy medium.  Doesn't sound like that will be a problem for you.

Final word - it's the best computer I've ever owned and I've owned a lot but it's still a computer so things still can go wrong.

JPatrick76JPatrick76
Thanks for the feedback, I appreciate it.
convereconvere